a stunning burst of speed…

by

I got cracking on the benchwork early today, and only running out of  #10 twin thread screws prevented me from finishing all the benchwork assembly.  As it was a Sunday, there was no choice but to quit for the day.

We had a late lunch around 3pm.  Before that I’d spent time cutting and assembling the main girders, then got most of the frame in position, with just the splice plate to complete it.

DSCF4977

I’m fairly organised and have all the tools I need, although a rip saw for sheet material would be good.  The mitre saw cuts good and square, but it can be hard work. There’s something very pleasing about building something like this – makes a change to visualise something in my head, then on paper, then see it take shape physically.

DSCF4976

DSCF4985

The 90 degree clamps are essential tools – it’s impossible to build a ladder frame without them.  I’ve had these for years, and they’re well over 40 years old.  I got a good system going, and assembled everything fairly quickly although it’s slower working solo.  Two drills helps, one with the pilot and one with the countersink tool.  There’s an awful lot of screws going into this baby, and every one has to be countersunk and then gone back over with filler to smooth it all out.

DSCF4980

Anyhow, by the close of play at around 7.30 I had completed all of the U shape, including the end wall connector piece, and now only need to add the 45 degree angled supports in the corner sections, then screw the ply tops down and fill the gaps and countersunk screws. I’m well within sight of the finishing post, and I’m pleased at the finished quality of what I’ve achieved.

I’m aiming in my own slightly cack-handed way to emulate the finish of some of the seminal layouts I’ve admired over the years, particularly the work of David Barrow and Tommy Holt,where even the fascia and benchwork are neat and professional looking.

barrow_5

Mr Barrow has been the longest and most consistent influence in what I might call my ‘modern era’ of modelling.

I hate this strange affliction whereby a modeller has super attention to detail on locomotives, but nothing else.  Some published layouts look like they’re built on any old piece of scrap timber that’s been floating around the shed. I’ve seen some super models built in a shed with no insulation or internal wall finish.  Having scrimped on all that stuff last time, I was determined that this one would not be compromised.  I never managed to install a backscene on the previous pike, so an integral wall finish that leant itself to a back scene was a must this time around. I want an overall finished and professional quality to everything.

DSCF4989

I think I’m on track to finish this week, especially as I’m owed a day for working Saturday – that only leaves the lifting section to complete, and that can wait.  At this rate I could be laying track next weekend!

 

One Response to “a stunning burst of speed…”

  1. Trevor Says:

    That looks great – I’ve been following your blog for a while and it’s nice to see construction underway. I also like your comments about not compromising on any aspect: I agree that it’s worth the time, effort and expense to create a nice environment for the layout.
    Cheers!
    – Trevor (Port Rowan in 1:64)

Leave a comment